The application process for the 2024 RADM Michael Fellowship is now OPEN. 


Congratulations to LCDR Briana Bond Rider (Pharmacist Category), LT Gabriella Marie Wuyke (Scientist Category), and LCDR Mirabelle Neh Adamu (Pharmacist Category), for being named the 2023 RADM Michael Fellows for 2023! Applications for the 2024 cycle will open April 1, 2024 and close on May 22, 2024.

The RADM Michael Fellowship provides funding for continuing education of junior officers serving in the USPHS Commissioned Corps. This funding opportunity is currently limited to the programs listed by the University of Maryland School of Public Health. All courses are held virtually and no “on campus” attendance is required.

​The PHS Commissioned Officers Foundation for the Advancement of Public Health pays for tuition and fees associated with the following programs:


Any O1-O4 member of the USPHS Commissioned Corps who is also a dues-paying member of the Commissioned Officers Association of the USPHS (COA). You must be O-4 or below at the time of application.

​Before starting the program, each applicant must be accepted to the University of Maryland School of Public Health certificate program of their choice.


Our agreement with the University of Maryland provides tuition at the in-state rate, regardless of whether the Fellow is a Maryland resident.

The Fellow is responsible for covering incidental costs such as the application fee and required materials.

US public health service member with hat and mask on

Application Process

The application for the 2024 RADM Michael Fellowship will open on April 1, 2024 and close on May 22, 2024. Questions? Please reach out to Annette Beadle, COF Grants Manager, [email protected].

RADM Jerrold M. Michael

The Foundation established the RADM Michael Fellowship to honor the late Rear Admiral Jerrold M. Michael, an engineer officer who was a lifelong advocate for improved public health education.

The devotion RADM Michael had for both the USPHS Commissioned Corps and academia is legendary. Following his 20-year career in the United States Public Health Service as an engineer officer, where he retired as an Assistant Surgeon General, RADM Michael served as Dean of the School of Public Health at the University of Hawaii from 1972 to 1992 and continued as Professor of Public Health through 1995. He later served as Emeritus Professor at the University of Hawaii and as an Adjunct Professor of Global Health at the Milken Institute School of Public Health, The George Washington University.

Past recipients of the RADM Michael Fellowship:

LCDR Jill Hammond (Engineer Category)
LCDR Varsha Savalia (Engineer Category)
LT Quynh Nhu Nguyen (Engineer Category)

LT Kristin Hardin (Nurse Category)
LCDR Allen Magtibay (Health Services Category)

CDR Oluchi Elekwachi (Pharmacist Category)
LT Chyla Hunter (Environmental Health Category)

CDR Monique Howard (Therapist Category)
CDR Sophia Russell (Nurse Category)
LCDR Diana Solana-Sodeinde (Pharmacist Category)
LT TaCheka Bailey (Health Services Category)

LT Eric Shell (Health Services Category)

Selection deferred to 2015

LCDR Nancy Tian (Scientist Category)
LT Melanie Edwards (Nurse Category)

LCDR Monique Richards (Health Services Category)

LCDR Jinean Riley (Health Services Category)

LCDR James Speckhart (Environmental Health Category)

LCDR Ashley Burns (Pharmacist Category)

LT Renee Ngozi Nwankwo (Nurse Category)

No selection due to COVID-19.

LT Rachel McBride (Dietitian Category)

LT Ebony Jackson Clark (Therapist Category)

LCDR Jamillah Dionisia Bynum (Health Service Category)

LCDR Rachael Leigh Cook (Pharmacist Category)

LCDR Briana Bond Rider (Pharmacist Category)

LT Gabriella Marie Wuyke (Scientist Category)

LCDR Mirabelle Neh Adamu (Pharmacist Category)

Questions? Please reach out.