2023 COF SYMPOSIUM TULSA, OK

TPAC CATEGORY DAY



Maryland Department of Health Board of Occupational Therapy Practice approved 7.25 CEUs

New Mexico Board of Physical Therapy Examiners approved 7.25 CEUs

Oklahoma Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology approved 7.25 CEUs

Oklahoma Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision Respiratory Care approved 7.25 CEUs







2023 TPAC CATEGORY DAY AGENDA

0800-0815 Welcome and Opening Remarks

CDR Charles Rainey, PT, DPT, DSc, MS LT Gernise Dixon, M.H.S., CCC-SLP

0815-0915 State of the Therapist Category

CAPT Jeff Richardson, PT, DPT Chief Professional Officer

0915-1000 The Average Officer

CAPT (ret) Richard Turner, MPH

1000-1015 Break

1015-1100 Provision of Health Care for Individuals Who Are Wards of a Governing Body

CAPT Stan Bennett, MS, OTR/L

1100-1300 Break

1300-1430 Lunch/Awards

LCDR Joshua Caulder, PT, DPT LT Whitney Huryta, PT, DPT LT Ryan Lynch, PT, DPT

<u>1430-1500 Electroneuromyography Findings in a Healthy 66-year-old Woman With a Rare occurring Ulnar Neuropathy in the Palm- A Case Report</u>

CDR Jennifer Kast. PT. DPT

<u>1500-1615 Therapists Roles in Opioid Overuse Prevention and Recovery- We Are A</u> Part of the Village

LCDR Carla Chase, M.S., CCC-SLP.D LCDR Alyssa Plata, MPH, RRT LT Samora Casimir, OTD, OTR/L LT Douglas Cordel, PT, DPT LT April Graham, AuD., CCC-A

1615-1645 PACE: Interacting and Collaborating within Your Community

LCDR Kayla Dewitt, PT, DPT

<u>1645-1715 Integrating Mindfulness Meditation into a Conventional Therapy Practice</u>

LCDR Shantel Barnes, PT, DPT, DHA LT Maria Doran, OTR/L LT Stephanie Rimroth, M.Ed., CCC-SLP

1715-1730 Closing Remarks & Adjourn

LT Gernise Dixon. M.H.S., CCC-SLP

AWARDEES

William Fromherz

CDR Joann Sents

The William Fromherz Award is presented to a career officer in the Therapist Category who is recognized by his/her peers for outstanding contributions in clinical care, program development, administration, or a combination thereof. The officer is recognized for the positive impact his/her contributions have made on the healthcare profession, the officer's program and/or the Commissioned Corps during his/her career in the United States Public Health Service.

Senior Therapist of the Year

CDR Kathryn Jacques

The Senior Therapist of the Year Award is presented to a senior officer who is recognized by his or her peers for outstanding contributions in leadership and advancement of public health.

Junior Therapist of the Year

LCDR Joshua Caulder

The Junior Therapist of the Year Award is presented to a junior officer who is recognized by his or her peers for overall performance in the delivery of quality healthcare and outstanding contributions in the area of clinical healthcare/healthcare management.

Josef Hoog Research Award

CDR Molly Rutledge, LCDR Phillip Kapatos, LCDR Ryan Pommier, LT Kyle Knight

The Josef Hoog Award was developed to foster research and publication by members of the USPHS Therapist category.

Therapist Responder of the Year

LCDR Shantel Barnes

The Therapist Responder of the Year Award was developed for the Therapist who has made outstanding achievements and contributions during their deployment as a Therapist in emergency preparedness and disaster response to national or international public health threats.

CAPT Roger M. Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award

The Family of CAPT Roger M. Nelson

The CAPT Roger M. Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award is a career award that recognizes an active duty or retired U.S. Public Health Service (USPHS) Therapist Officer whose outstanding vision, commitment, inspiration, leadership and mentorship impacted the Therapist Category and USPHS in a profound and lasting manner.

RETIREES

RDML Stephen Spaulding, CAPT Michelle Jordan Garner, CDR Karen Kajiwara-Nelson, CDR Richard Brantley, CDR Julie Van Leuven, LCDR Joseph Christ

Special Thanks

In Officio Salutis

Category Day Task Force

CATEGORY DAY CHAIR

LT Gernise Dixon

SPECIAL ADVISOR

LCDR Carla Chase

CATEGORY DAY CO-CHAIR

LCDR SCOTT MCGREW

SECRETARY

LT Samora Casimir

AWARDS

LT Gernise Dixon LT Whitney Huryta* **IT SURVEYS**

LT April Graham*

CAREER COUNSELING

CDR Jamie Kamon-Brancazio* LCDR Nathan Kyle Mann IT TECH SUPPORT
LT Douglas Cordel*

MODERATOR

LCDR Shantel Barnes* LT Brooke Marshall LT Stephanie Rimroth

CEU

CDR Johanna Gilstrap LCDR Carla Chase* LCDR Alyssa Plata LT Samora Casimir LT Ebony Jackson Clark LT Heidy Perales

PHOTO

LCDR Courtney Jones LT Maria Doran*

COIN BULK ORDER

LT Charles Cole*

RETIREMENT

LCDR Joshua Caulder* LT Ryan Lynch

COMMUNICATIONS

LCDR Kayla Dewitt* LT Gernise Dixon SPEAKER RESOURCE/

SPEAKER ADMINITRATION

CDR Jennifer Turner LCDR Scott McGrew*

EXHIBIT BOOTH

LCDR Rodney Hale LCDR Candice Todd* LT LaShawn Elam **SOCIAL EVENT**

LCDR Krista Marquard*

TIMEKEEPER/WATCHMAN

LT Charles Cole*

*Denotes committee lead

Thank you for attending. Please use the following links: